Guest Testimonials

Below you can find, ordered from newest to oldest and unedited, every review we’ve ever received.
It’s a lot to read, but if you want to discover what people think of their stay at Villa Koukouvayia, our guests can provide the best sense of that experience. And while we would never claim to be perfect, a lot of other people think their time here was!

From 2023

“An excellent place to explore the west of Crete.”

“Richard & Heidi…run the house with great attention to detail.”

“Spacious, well equipped; and every room (even the bathroom) has access to the outdoors with great views.”

Villa Koukouvayia is an excellent place to explore the west of Crete. The guest house is spacious, well equipped; and every room (even the bathroom) has access to the outdoors with great views. In the kitchen you really find everything you need, and also the knives are really sharp. Upon arrival you will find a few groceries in the fridge, so there is no stress about the next supermarket visit. On the terrace there is enough space to make yourself comfortable or to light the barbecue in the evening.
Richard and Heidi are the best hosts you can imagine. They run the house with great attention to detail and have lots of tips for excursions, hikes, beaches and restaurants ready and are always nice and responsive.
The swimming pool is small but deep and invites you to jump in.
Regularly Oliver (cat) and Logan (dog) come by and get their strokes.
We enjoyed our time there very much and can highly recommend it.

Lars & Haike, sons Oskar (17) & Jakob (13), October 2023

“Couldn’t recommend it more highly.”

A beautiful spot with beautiful people. Heidi and Richard are amazing hosts, and their little slice of heaven is a great place from which to fall in love with Western Crete. Very comfortable guest house that is fully equipped, with comfortable beds and lots of
places to lounge and relax. Convenient to all the western and southwestern beaches and sites, and a reasonable drive into Chania when you need some city time. Couldn’t recommend it more highly.

Denis, Julienne, Jamie & Lara August 2022

“A beautiful spot with beautiful people.”

“Fully equipped, with comfortable beds and lots of places to lounge and relax.”

“A fabulous stay! ”

“The children loved playing with Logan and Oliver and want to come back as soon as possible!”

“We lacked nothing.”

“Many thanks for this wonderful vacation! ❤️”

Séjour fabuleux ! Nous avons passés 11 jours dans la villa Koukouvayia à 6 (2 adultes et 4 enfants). Richard a été aux petits soins avec nous. Toujours disponible il nous a indiqué des coins très sympa à visiter. La villa est tres bien équipée. Nous avons manqué de rien et avons pu partager de superbes moments. Les enfants ont adoré jouer avec Logan et Oliver et souhaitent revenir chez Heidi et Richard au plus vite ! Mille mercis pour ce merveilleux séjour. ❤️

A fabulous stay! We spent 11 days in Villa Koukouvayia, 6 of us (2 adults and 4 children). Richard took great care of us. Always available, he showed us very nice places to visit. The villa is very well equipped. We lacked nothing and were able to share great moments. The children loved playing with Logan and Oliver and want to come back to Heidi and Richard as soon as possible! Many thanks for this wonderful vacation! ❤️

Cecille & Clement, children Noe (12) Lilian (11) Louise & Morgane (9), September 2023

“We continue to think often and fondly back to this beautiful week!”

Wunderschöner Aufenthalt auf Kreta Wir waren eine Woche im Gästehaus des Anwesens und das Haus ist so toll, wie in der Beschreibung und den Fotos ersichtlich. Richard und Heidi begrüßten uns herzlich und hatten schon Brot, Obst, Gemüse, Käse und einige Getränke bereitgestellt. Dass so viele Lebensmittel, Gewürze, Kaffee, Tee, Kakao usw.in einer Ferienwohnung vorhanden sind, haben wir noch nie erlebt. Auch in der Küche fehlt es an nichts, wenn man selber kochen möchte. Die Gastgeber stehen gerne mit Tipps und Vorschlägen zur Seite, wenn man dies möchte. Mit uns war Richard zum Klippenspringen an einer
ungefährlichen Stelle. Die vielen verschiedenen Terrassen und Sitzmöglichkeiten um das Haus herum sind toll und es ist überall gemütlich. Abends konnte man wunderschön von der Dachterrasse den Sternenhimmel bewundern. Nach einer Woche reisten vier traurige Urlauber ab bzw. weiter und denken oft und gerne an diese
schöne Woche zurück.
Vielen Dank für diesen tollen Aufenthalt, Richard and Heidi!


We stayed in Villa Koukouvayia &  Guest House for a week, and the house is as great as the online description and photos! Richard and Heidi welcomed us warmly and had already provided bread, fruit, vegetables, cheese and some drinks. We have never experienced so much food, spices, coffee, tea, cocoa, etc. in a holiday apartment. There is also nothing missing in the kitchen, even if you plan to cook all meals yourself. The hosts are happy to provide tips and suggestions if you wish. Richard even took us to a safe place to cliff dive! The many different terraces and seating options around the
house are great and it’s cozy everywhere. In the evening you can admire the starry sky from the roof terrace. After a week, four sad vacationers left, but we continue to think often and fondly back to this beautiful week!
Thank you for that great stay, Richard and Heidi!

Christine & Thomas, sons Maximilian (13) & Felix (10), August 2023

“Thank you for that great stay!”

“We have never experienced so much food, spices, coffee, tea, cocoa, etc. in a holiday apartment. There is also nothing missing in the kitchen, even if you plan to cook all meals yourself.”

“Richard even took us to a safe place to cliff-dive!”

“Our stay…was phenomenal.”

“We were a little bit concerned about sharing the pool area, which was not justified at all. The property layout is meticulously planned and even though the other two homes had guests, we always felt plenty of privacy and ample family space.”

“[Richard & Heidi] really give you the feeling you are at home from the moment you arrive at the house!”

“We are already planning already to return!”

Our stay at Heidi’s and Richards property was phenomenal. We were a little bit concerned about sharing the pool area, which was not justified at all. The property layout is meticulously planned and even though the other two homes had guests, we always felt plenty of privacy and ample family space. All guests were very respectful,
and the pool was a great place to meet once in a while, with ample spaces to retreat for private family time. What truly made our stay special, however, were Heidi and Richard. They are super friendly, well read, very funny and we ended up having beers and dinner a couple of times. They really give you the feeling you are at home from the moment you arrive at the house. We hope we will stay in contact and we are already planning already to return. In short, highly recommended!!!

Ricardo & Alina, Mothers Juana & Elena, sons Levi (3) & Ari (21 mos.), August
2023

“It should be given at least 100 stars, not 5!”

What words can be used to describe Villa Koukouvayia and Richard and Heidi? Simply unsurpassable. They were like a family: friendly, always available, and even gave us tips on where to eat, drink, shop, and, last but not least, tips on beaches. The house is fully equipped, including a great table tennis table. I cannot find the right words to say how perfect everything was. The tranquility and the view of a beautiful olive grove were among the positives. A starry sky above your head is a sight you cannot miss in the evening. The house, by the way, has a strategic location for the beaches. I want to focus on their kindness and the unique experience of having a drink together while discussing and enjoying the cultural exchange that is only possible in a family. A lot of bookshelves and a lot of books is a small gem for those who love reading. Returning there is something I will definitely do, and I am excited to see them again. A highly recommended place and experience! It should be given at least 100 stars, not 5!

Thank you for that great stay, Richard and Heidi!

Veronica & Marco, Eliza & Claudio, daughter Anja (18), August 2023

“Simply unsurpassable.”

“Bookshelves and…books is a small gem for those who love reading.”

“I cannot find the right words to say how perfect everything was.”

“Beautiful remote setting.”

“Hosts are a delight !!”

Beautiful remote setting, house equipped for every opportunity, hosts a delight!! Thank you for sharing your home, where our memories were made ❤️!!
Caroline & sons Jake (16) & Sammy (14), August 2023

“The covered terrace is particularly pleasant, and like the other terraces offers magnificent views!”

Au calme au milieu des oliviers!
Nous avons passé une semaine reposante au milieu des oliviers. On s’y sent comme à la maison: tout y est extrêmement bien pensé et rien ne manque ! La terrasse couverte est particulièrement agréable et les autres offrent une vue magnifique ! Richard et Heidi sont très accueillants, chaleureux et aux petits soins ! Un grand merci pour tous leursconseils. Nous y retournerons avec un immense plaisir !! 

Peace & quiet among the olive trees!

We spent a relaxing week among the olive trees. The house feels like home: everything is extremely well thought-out and nothing is missing! The covered terrace is particularly pleasant, and like the other terraces offer magnificent views! Richard and Heidi are very welcoming, warm and caring! Many thanks for all their advice. We will return with great pleasure!

​Emelyne & Alexandre, children Tristan (15) Diane (13) & Susan (6), July 2023

“The house feels like home…and nothing is missing!”

“Cette maison est fabuleuse!” “This house is fabulous!”

“Everything is close by—the supermarket, restaurants and the beaches!”

“Everything is thought-out and convenient, the beds are great, and the bathrooms are lovely!”

Cette maison est fabuleuse! Nous étions 2 couples et 4 enfants de moins de 11 ans. Le site est magnifique, avec une vue incroyable sur les montagnes. C est tres calme, au milieu des champs d oliviers. Un havre de paix! Tout est à proximité, superette, restaurants et plage. La maison est tres fonctionnelle, tout est pensé et pratique, les lits
sont très bons, la salle de bain est très agréable. Les chambres sont climatisées, la cuisine est équipée avec tout le nécessaire voire plus! La piscine permet de se rafraîchir et aux enfants de jouer.
Merci Richard et Heidi, vous êtes des hôtes attentionnés!

This house is fabulous! We were 2 couples and 4 children under 11. The site is beautiful, with an amazing view of the mountains. It’s very quiet, amidst olive fields, and a haven of peace! Everything is close by—the supermarket, restaurants and the beaches. The house is very functional, everything is thought-out and convenient, the
beds are great, and the bathrooms are lovely. The bedrooms are air-conditioned, the kitchen is equipped with all the necessities and more! The pool allows you to cool off and the kids play.
Thanks Richard and Heidi, you are thoughtful hosts!!

​Caroline & Francoise, Marianne & Karim, children Sarah (10) Souad (11) Armel (6) & Gabriel (5), July 2023

“Thank you so much for everything!”

Amazing house and surroundings. Incredible kind and generous hosts who make sure your stay will be what you want it to be! Thank you so much for everything! We had a incredible stay at your fine property!! Kind regards, Ludvig, Anna, Elle, Elma, Janne & Lisa from Sweden.

Ludwig & Anna, sister Lisa, father Janne, children Elle (8) & Elma (4), July 2023

“Amazing house and surroundings.”

“Incredible kind and generous hosts who make sure your stay will be what you want it to be!”

“We do not want to stay anywhere else when we return to Crete!”

“Not only is the house beautiful, quiet and offers all equipment you may need, but the kindness and consideration of Richard and Heidi for their guests makes this experience unforgettable.”

Wonderful week in very beautiful villa with 360° view on sea, churches and olive trees.
We really spent an excellent stay at Koukouvayia villa. Not only is the house beautiful, quiet and offers all equipment you may need, but the kindness and consideration of Richard and Heidi for their guests makes this experience unforgettable. There are a lot
of different beaches to discover and numerous Tavernas to taste in the area, as well as supermarkets and minimarkets less than 15mns by car. We also appreciated the fresh swimming pool and the outside showers. We do not want to stay anywhere else when
we return to Crete!

Nolwenn & Lionel, daughters Elynn (16) & Leya (10), July 2023

“Will definitely return.”

Richard and Heidi are wonderful hosts. They were always at our disposal and helpful. We spent two wonderful weeks and will  definitely return. There were 20 of us, and everyone had a lot of space for themselves. The villa has everything you need—swimming pool, table tennis table, toys for children, beach equipment, barbecue and much more. Location in an olive grove overlooking the sea, with peace and quiet all around. The views from the terrace and balconies are spectacular. An excellent base for exploring the western part of the island. Thank you for your hospitality!

Lukasz, Adrian, Kamil, Andrzej ,Maciej & families, June 2023

“The villa has everything you need—swimming pool, table tennis table, toys for children, beach equipment, barbecue and much more.”

“Overlooking the sea, with peace and quiet all around.”

“There were 20 of us, and everyone had a lot of space for themselves.”

“The location is heavenly—I could just sit and watch the view all day.”

“I loved taking one of the bikes and cycling down to the beach for my daily swim.”

“I will be returning!”

I went for 3 nights for a quick get-away to re-charge, and I stayed in the beautiful guest house. I had the most wonderful stay. The location is heavenly—I could just sit and watch the view all day, listen to the goat bells, the church bells, wander through the olive groves. Richard and Heidi are amazing hosts, friendly and helpful with as much or as little interaction as you want. Logan and the dog and Oliver the cat are characters! I loved taking one of the bikes and cycling down to the beach for my daily swim. It was so relaxing sitting on the terrace in the sun or having my breakfast on the roof terrace. And the guest house is so comfortable and homely with amazing views. I will be returning! Thank you Heidi and Richard for making my stay so easy, so comfortable and so welcome.

Emma, April 2023

“I can't wait to return!!!”

I can’t wait to return to Heidi and Richard's Villa Koukouvayia! 
In no particular order: The setting of their property is heavenly, the accommodations are wonderful, and Crete is a magical island to experience. Heidi/Richard are the best hosts possible, and their inside knowledge of tavernas, destinations, local culture—which they generously share—made the vacation even more special. I can’t
wait to return!!!

Rebecca, Mary & Orit, April 2023

“The best hosts possible.”

“Absolutely amazing!”

“Villa Koukouvayia has everything you need, from beach equipment to camping supplies to bicycles.”

We cannot recommend Villa Koukouvayia enough. You'll be planning your next trip back before you leave the island!

What can I say, Villa Koukouvayia is absolutely amazing! Two friends and I stayed for a week in the Garden Suite, and it was absolutely perfect. We had plenty of space with the three bedrooms, two bathrooms, laundry, living room, spacious kitchen, and dining
room. The outdoor spaces were perfect as well!
We cannot speak highly enough of Richard and Heidi (Logan, the dog, and Oliver the cat too)!! They were so welcoming. They made our stay with them go from merely excellent to outstanding. They had provisions waiting for us so that after a day of travel we wouldn’t have to worry about getting basic foods and grocery items for dinner or breakfast if we didn’t want to. We quickly became family; spending multiple evenings going to dinner with them and the other guests staying in the farm’s Guest House. We even went to a Greek dance class with Heidi! HIGHLY recommend!!! Both were knowledgeable about the island of Crete, Villa Koukouvayia’s local area, and the various activities/restaurants available.

Villa Koukouvayia has everything you need, from beach equipment to camping supplies to bicycles. The outdoor spaces at the Villa are spectacular with 360-degree views of the property, mountains, and ocean. The property itself is surrounded by olive trees and everywhere nearby is very walkable. I cannot recommend Villa Koukouvayia enough. You’ll be planning your next trip back
before you leave the island! We can’t wait to come back and visit our “parents” again!
With love,

Friends Suki, Shannon & Sloane, April 2023

“Everything you need to cook, picnic, to head to the beach…is right in the garage for you to use and enjoy.”

Phenomenal hosts Richard and Heidi made us feel at home from the moment we drove onto their beautiful property. From the moment you step into their guest house, the main house or garden apartment, it is obvious that they take having fun on vacation to
a new level. Everything you need to cook, picnic, to head to the beach, to recreate, is right in the garage for you to use and enjoy.
They respect your privacy, but I found myself becoming part of the Villa Koukouvayia scene.
Great job guys!

Chris & Becky, March 2023

“Phenomenal hosts.”

“The perfect getaway for a relaxing holiday.”

“A lovely sanctuary and a fantastic place to spend time.”

“The Garden Suite is large and extremely comfortable with a full, well-appointed kitchen and multiple bedrooms; plenty of space to spread out and relax.

“Perfect hosts.”

My wife and I were on Crete for the first time in March and Villa Koukouvayia was the perfect getaway retreat for a relaxing holiday. Our original plan was to stay a few days in the Villa’s Garden Suite and then move on to explore other accommodation on different parts of the Island. As it turned out, we enjoyed out stay at Villa Koukouvayia Farms so much that we extended our stay for our entire time on Crete.
The Garden Suite is large and extremely comfortable with a full, well-appointed kitchen and multiple bedrooms; plenty of space to spread out and relax. Relaxing in the gardens and strolling the trails through the olive groves offers stunning views of the sea and the Cretan countryside. Super relaxing.
Nicest of all was the warm and friendly reception we had from our hosts, Richard and Heidi. These two have invested their time, money, and most of all their hearts into Crete and love to share their love of the island with visitors. They are perfect hosts, helping us plan our exploration over morning coffee and muffins on the Villa’s balcony and even joining us for a few day trips around the island! Richard and Heidi (and even
some local friends of theirs!) were even kind enough to join us for a meal at one of their favorite eateries where we could soak up a true Cretan experience while enjoying the great local food and wine.
I see on their website that they’re also offering planned retreats and excursions around Crete and Greece. They will be the perfect companions for something like this!! I wish we lived closer!
We had a wonderful visit to Crete, made exceptional by the warm welcome and great hospitality of Richard and Heidi. They’ve created a lovely sanctuary and a fantastic place to spend time. We created fond memories that will last forever.

Stuart & Alice, March 2023

From 2022

“The pool is very beautiful—a great refreshment before breakfast.”

“You feel like you´re living in the park of a castle.”

“All the equipment…is top quality and very strong!”

“The best thing are the wonderful hosts. Thank you, Richard and Heidi!”

The house is very clean and perfectly equipped. It has everything you can imagine (like snorkeling gear) and everything is very thoughtfully arranged. We also loved the excellent table tennis table. The pool is beautiful—a great refreshment before breakfast. All the equipment, like parasol etc., is top quality and very strong. The view
from the terraces are absolutely stunning and unhindered. You see olive trees and the sea. The whole property is surrounded by olive trees, and you feel like you´re living in the park of a castle. There are great beaches on the west coast of Crete. There is a very peaceful dog (Logan) and a beautiful cat (Oliver). And the best thing about it are the wonderful hosts Richard and Heidi. Richard gave us many great and helpful recommendations and he was always very willing to help. Thank you very much, Richard and Heidi!

Harald & Agata, son Sebastian (9), November 2022

“A fantastic view of the surrounding area and the sea.”

Die Villa hat alle unsere Erwartungen mehr als erfüllt. Wir haben uns hier sehr wohl gefühlt, was auch an den sehr lieben Vermietern Heidi und Richard lag. Bei Fragen waren sie immer ansprechbar und sehr hilfsbereit Obwohl nicht im Inserat erwähnt gibt es in den Schlafzimmern Klimaanlagen. Die Lage ist ruhig und nicht nur von der Dachterrasse hat man einen fantastischen Ausblick auf das Umland und das Meer. Mit dem Auto ist man in 5-10 min am Meer. Auch die schönsten Strände Kretas, wie Elafonisi, Balos und Falassarna liegen fast um die Ecke.
The villa more than met all our expectations. We felt very comfortable here, which was also due to the very nice landlords Heidi and Richard. They were always available and very helpful with questions. Although not mentioned in the ad, there are air conditioning units in the bedrooms. The location is quiet and not only from the roof terrace you have a fantastic view of the surrounding area and the sea. You can reach the sea in 5-10 minutes by car. The most beautiful beaches of Crete, such as Elafonisi,
Balos and Falassarna are almost around the corner.

Birgit & Jens, daughter Miriam (23), October 2022

“…Perfect!”

All as we wanted it. Perfect!

Pascal & Maria, children Nico (7) & Lea (5), October 2022

“Wonderful for children.”

“Rundum eine perfekte Unterkunft! A perfect place to stay!”

Wir hatten eine wunderschöne Zeit im Gästehaus von Richard und Heidi. Die beiden sind sehr nette Gastgeber. Die Unterkunft ist traumhaft, insbesondere die schönen Terrassen. Wir konnten uns richtig gut erholen. Die Unterkunft ist auch mit Kind wunderbar (Wir waren mit unserem 10 Monate alten Sohn da). Vor Ort erreicht man innerhalb 10-15 min herrliche Strände! Rundum eine perfekte Unterkunft! 

We had a wonderful time at Richard and Heidi’s guesthouse. The two are very nice hosts. The accommodation is fantastic, especially the beautiful terraces. We were able to rest and relax completely! The place is also wonderful for children; we were there with our 10 month old son. From the villa you can reach magnificent beaches within 10-15 minutes! All around a perfect place to stay!

Bettina & Jorg, son Vincent (10 mos.), September 2022

“Best vacation, best hosts…and best dog & cat!!!❤️”

SIX out of five stars!Best vacation, best hosts…and best dog & cat!!! ❤️
Wojciech & Sonia, September 2022

SIX out of five stars!”

“A wonderful place! We recommend 200%!”

“A perfect starting point for our excursions!”

L endroit est très calme et cette maison a été idéale comme point de départ à nos différentes excursions!
The place is very quiet, and this house was ideal as a starting point for our various excursions!

Stephanie & Arnault, children Valentine (18) Gaspard (16) & Adele(12), August 2022

“Cet un endroit merveilleux. Je recommande à 200%!”

La villa est vraiment très belle et agréable. les hôtes sont au top également, très discrets et serviables. Cet un endroit merveilleux. Je recommande à 200%!
The villa is really very beautiful and pleasant. the hosts are also the best, very discreet and helpful. This is a wonderful place. We recommend 200%!

Christophe & Julie, daughter Cassandra (15), brother Matthieu (26), August 2022

“There is a surprising karma to this place. Thank you again for these wonderful moments spent far from the tourist-tumult.”

Des vacances parfaites dans un petit coin de paradis où Richard et Heidi savent vous servir au mieux dans la plus grande discrétion et le strict respect de votre quiétude. Il se dégage en effet un karma surprenant en cet endroit. Paix et tranquillité sont les maîtres mots. Merci encore pour ces formidables moments passés dans la villa
Koukouvayia loin du tumulte touristique de la Crête. 

A perfect vacation in a little corner of paradise where Richard and Heidi know how to serve you best with the utmost discretion and strict respect for your peace of mind. There is indeed a surprising karma in this place. Peace and tranquility are the key words. Thank you again for these wonderful moments spent in the villa  Koukouvayia far from the tourist tumult of Crete.

David & Severine, sons Luc (7) & Jeremy (4), August 2022

“Des vacances parfaites dans un petit coin de paradis.”

A perfect vacation in a little corner of paradise.

“In reality, the house is even better than it looks in pictures.”

“You can really tell that a lot of love and care has gone into this place.”

“The villa offers plenty of space and is very well equipped.”

“We were warmly welcomed and given a comprehensive introduction to the house.”

We had a really wonderful holiday in Richard & Heidi's villa.
We were warmly welcomed and given a comprehensive introduction to the house. Before we arrived, the two of them bought us some groceries so that we didn’t have to go shopping straight away.
The villa offers plenty of space and is very well equipped. You can really tell that a lot of love and care has gone into this place. The outdoor area is also really great, the pool is very deep and pleasantly cool, so you can always refresh yourself. Together with the great dog, Logan, and the charming cat, Oliver, we were never bored.
There are many great restaurants and excursion destinations in the area, especially in Kissamos, but a day of relaxation in the villa is also nice.
If we had any problems or suggestions for excursions, we could contact them at any time.

Tino & children Nele (19) Tobias (20) & Maria (15), August 2022

“We will come back for sure next year!!!

Dear Heidi and Richard, thank you for having us! We’ve had an incredible time at Villa Koukouvayia, and you were amazing hosts! The villa was equipped with everything you can guess. We have never been to such a perfect vacation home! Thank you for your
tips about where to go for dining & swimming. We miss Logan the dog and Oliver the cat, we miss the sound of the cicadas and (especially me) I miss the swing! We will come back for sure next year!!! Kind regards from Hilli Marcus and Ben (the pool jumper.)

Hilli & Marcus, son Ben (14), July 2022

“The villa was equipped with everything you can guess. We have never been to such a perfect vacation home!”

“We’ve had an incredible time at Villa Koukouvayia, and you were amazing hosts!

“We miss Logan the dog, and Oliver the cat!”

“Kind regards from Ben (the pool jumper!)”

"A great villa in a tranquil, peaceful setting.”

"A real home away from home.”

A great villa in tranquil peaceful setting, a real home away from home. Balconies have uninterrupted views. Richard and Heidi were very welcoming and helpful providing good local knowledge which helped us find less busy places with very good food. (Lovely cat and dog too) Thank you so much.

Vivien & David, daughter Julia (27), July 2022

“The roof terrace was a great retreat for our teenagers, and watching the night sky became routine.”

We spent a wonderful week at Villa Koukouvayia in July. We were a party of 7, our family of 4 plus 3 other relatives, staying in the Main House. From planning our trip (when they answered my hundreds of questions!) to after our arrival when they helped with advice and local info, I can’t emphasize enough how great the hosts Heidi and
Richard were. The Main House is such a beautiful house with almost anything you would think you need. And if it is not there, Richard will bring it the next day as he did with a swing chair we wanted on the patio. The view from the Main House is absolutely stunning. 360° view with 13 churches to be found. (We only managed to find 6!) We
enjoyed hearing the church bells, listening to the crickets in the evening, and to the cicadas during the day. The pool was a bonus for the warm days. Our young one enjoyed the kid’s pool so much! Logan, the dog and Oliver, the cat were very friendly, and the kids enjoyed playing with them. The roof terrace was a great retreat for our teenagers, and watching the night sky became routine. The villa has something to offer to any age. The hosts are warm, friendly, and knowledgeable. We hope to return there someday.

Lilian & Cristian, children Robbie (14) & Clara (12), nephew Adi (22), sister Monica & son Leo (4), July 2022

“From planning our trip (when they answered my hundreds of questions!) to after our arrival when they helped with advice and local info, I can't emphasize enough how great the hosts Heidi and Richard were….”

“Something to offer to any age.”

“Our young one enjoyed the kid’s pool so much!”

“We can’t say enough about the relaxing and private vibe of this property!”

“We liked how private the house was.”

“The hosts are very friendly and knowledgeable; they have a passion for Crete and its wonderful culture.”

We had an excellent time exploring around the Kissamos/Chania area and this property made getting to many of the interesting beaches & attractions in the area easily accessible and stress free. The property and house are family friendly, and we felt welcomed there and used a lot of the gear, games, and equipment available. We
liked how private the house is, the views of the sea are amazing and it’s close enough to local restaurants too. We can’t say enough about the relaxing and private vibe of this property! We were able to see the ‘arms’ of the Milky Way galaxy at night because the night sky is so clear – a rarity in Europe! The hosts are very friendly and
knowledgeable; they have a passion for Crete and its wonderful culture.

Leslie & Chris, twins Amelie & Oliver (12) & daughter Ellerie (8), June 2022

“Crete itself was perfect; the villa was the icing on the cake!”

This listing jumped out at us for the look of the villa and the convenient location. We couldn’t have asked for more – in fact, we were mildly amused at how carefully labelled everything was, including the lights all over the property. The owners live on site and appeared regularly to check all was well: Richard stayed up into the small hours to guide us in from Chania and had a welcome glass of local aquavit to greet us. The villa is cool, comfortable, and stocked with everything, ensuring a very civilised stay. Crete itself was perfect – the villa was the icing on the cake!

Eloise & Kevin, children Felix (20) & Amelie (18), June 2022

“We couldn't have asked for more.”

“Richard stayed up into the small hours to guide us in from Chania and had a welcome glass of local aquavit to greet us.”

“The villa is cool, comfortable and stocked with everything, ensuring a very civilized stay.”

“Absolutely perfect!”

“Although I have travelled a lot in my life, I had never experienced hosts who met us with so much kindness and thoughtfulness before we even arrived.”

“The shared areas like the pool and terrace were spacious and although there were other guests, we never felt bothered.”

“With Heidi’s and Richard’s help and support we even managed to do the famous Samaria gorge.”

“The temperatures were very warm, but the apartment was cool and we never required the air conditioners.”

Well, what can I say except everything was absolutely perfect! When I booked our stay in the Garden Suite at Koukouvayia it felt too good to be true. Richard sent me photos of the fantastic villa, suggestions for hikes and other activities and even asked me what we would like for breakfast on our first morning so that we wouldn’t have to worry
about the shopping on our arrival day. Although I have travelled a lot in my life, I had never experienced hosts who met us with so much  kindness and thoughtfulness before we even arrived.
On our arrival day we were welcomed like family by Richard, Heidi, the villa’s dog Logan and cat Oliver. We were the first guests to stay in the Garden Suite, which had just been refurbished and wonderfully decorated. The apartment was very well equipped, and we didn’t miss anything. A big open kitchen with all the utensils you
need, a spacious dining area, a cozy living space with fireplace and in-house entertainment (TV, DVD player), two bathrooms (including a washing machine and dryer) as well as three bedrooms. Richard passionately spent a lot of time explaining the apartment, the shared areas like the pool, the surroundings and the Cretan way of
life to us. Although the outside temperatures were very warm, the apartment was nice and cool inside (we only used the ceiling fans and never required the air conditioners). We felt at home instantly and were even happier when Richard and Heidi asked us if
we would like to join them and two friends for dinner at a local Taverna. We had a wonderful evening full of laughter and joy as well as delicious food and wine.

The shared areas of Koukouvayia like the pool and terrace were spacious, and although there were other guests, we never felt bothered or uncomfortable. Richard and Heidi went out of their way to set up the ping-pong table for us and we had super fun challenging each other and Richard. (He didn’t let me win though, which is the only minus point of the holiday.) We were also delighted to find everything for the beach, like umbrellas and beach toys. Logan, the cutest and most well-behaved dog on earth, was a pleasure and we loved to take him for a stroll through the olive groves.
Richard always offered excellent advice on the hiking tours, which we had planned. The area around Kissamos is exceptionally beautiful with wild gorges and gorgeous bays – perfect terrain for our nine-year old son. With Heidi’s and Richard’s help and support we even managed to do the famous Samaria gorge. Thanks again for taking us to the trail head in the Omalos mountains and dropping our car at Sougia to have an easy car ride back to Koukouvayia after the amazing hike through the world-famous gorge. As mentioned before Heidi and Richard went out of their way to make our stay
memorable and unique.
We have finally found a place where we would really like to spend another holiday, not only because of the perfect “hardware” but definitely because of Heidi and Richard, their caring and joyous attitude.
Thank you for treating us like family and making our stay at Koukouvayia a very special one. We will be back! Best wishes,

Nadine & Gilbert, son Felix (9), June 2022

From 2021

“We used the bikes to cycle to Balos Beach.”

“The villa has everything you need, plus lots more.”

Die Villa vom Heidi und Richard ist wunderbar – sie ist mit allem ausgestattet, was man braucht und hat darüber hinaus viele Dinge, über die man sich sonst noch freut (z.B. eine Tischtennisplatte). Wir haben Richard und Heidi nur kurz kennengelernt, aber sie
sind total nett und zuvorkommend.
Heidi and Richard’s villa is wonderful – it has everything you need plus lots more (e.g. a ping pong table). Richard and Heidi are super nice and accommodating.

Noemi & Martin, baby Karlotta (4 mos.), October 2021

“With the recommendations of Richard there is no way to not enjoy Crete.”

We had such a lovely stay at Richard and Heidi’s property. The guest house was very well equipped, with all the necessaries but also fun extras. For example, we used the bikes to cycle to Balos Beach. Lots of things to do in the surrounding area. With the recommendations of Richard there is no way to not enjoy Crete (and its food).

Richa & Robin, November 2021

“The house book was incredibly complete.”

We visited the property a couple of weeks ago and found it to be just as advertised, if not better. The only disappointment was that Richard and Heidi were not there that week; however their substitute host Giorgos was great, even inviting us into his home
for some drinks and snacks (and so his granddaughter could play with our son). Everything you could possibly need was at the property and the house book was incredibly complete. We had a fabulous time and hope to return in the future.

Amanda & Allen, son Franklin (4), October 2021

“Just as advertised, if not better.”

“Everything you could possibly need was at the property.”

“Just perfect!”

“Surrounded by countless olive trees.”

“The view of the sea bay and the clear starry sky are fantastic.”

“The deep pool and waterfall kept us cool.”

“Everything you need: from beach towels to children's toys to top kitchen equipment and lots of toys for the beach.”

Einfach perfekt! Absolut zu empfehlen. Wir haben mit unserem zweijährigen Sohn 12 wundervolle Tage in der Villa verbracht. Das Haus liegt sehr schön ruhig, umgeben von unzähligen Olivenbäumen. Sowohl die Aussicht auf die Meerbucht als auch den meist klaren Sternenhimmel sind traumhaft und sorgen für beste Erholung. Die vielen Balkone und die wunderschöne Dachterrasse bieten viel Platz zum Verweilen und genießen der Ruhe. Der kleine, tiefe Pool mit einem Wasserfall sorgt für Abkühlung. Im Keller gibt es sogar eine Tischtennisplatte, die man nutzen darf. Die  usstattung des. Hauses ist fantastisch. Es gibt wirklich alles, was man braucht. Von Hand-/Strandtüchern über Kinderspielzeug bis hin zu einer top Küchenausstattung und sehr vielen Tools für den Strand. Und sollte doch irgendetwas fehlen, so versucht Richard es zu besorgen. Heidi und Richard sind super freundliche, unkomplizierte und extrem hilfsbereite Gastgeber. Sie sind sehr  aufgeschlossen und waren immer an unserem Wohl interessiert und sich stets erkundigt, ob alles in Ordnung ist. Sie geben tolle Tipps für die Umgebung, zum Einkaufen oder Restaurants. Logan, der kinderliebe Hund war ein weiteres Highlight für unseren Sohn. Die schönsten Strände Kretas erreicht man in 30 Minuten mit dem Auto. Bis zum nächsten Strand sind es sogar nur 7min mit dem Auto. Zum nächsten kleinen Supermarkt sind es 3min mit dem Auto oder 15min zu Fuß. Kurzum, wir können die Villa Koukouvayia absolut empfehlen.

Just perfect! Absolutely recommended. We spent 12 wonderful days in the villa with our two-year-old son. The house is very quiet, surrounded by countless olive trees. Both the view of the sea bay and the clear starry sky are fantastic and ensure the best
relaxation. The many balconies and the beautiful roof terrace offer plenty of space to linger and enjoy the peace and quiet. The deep pool and a waterfall kept us cool. In the basement there is even a table tennis table that you can use. The equipment of the
house is fantastic. There really is everything you need. From hand/beach towels to children’s toys to top kitchen equipment and lots of tools for the beach. And if something is missing, Richard tries to get it. Heidi and Richard are super friendly, uncomplicated and extremely helpful hosts. They are very open-minded and were
always interested in our well-being and always asked if everything was ok. They give great tips for the area, for shopping or restaurants. Logan, the child-loving dog was another highlight for our son. The most beautiful beaches of Crete can be reached in 30
minutes by car. The nearest beach is only 7 minutes by car. The nearest small supermarket is 3 minutes by car or 15 minutes on foot. In short, we can absolutely recommend Villa Koukouvayia.

Michelle & Dirk, baby Lean (18 mos.), September 2021

“We will keep Villa Koukouvayia’s address for us, but also share it with friends!”

A beautiful week in the middle of the olive trees, end of August 2021! The guest house is very pleasant with its terraces which allow you to adapt to the whims of the wind and the sun! A warm welcome by Heidi and Richard! They know the area well and are very helpful. Their help came in handy when a medical issue forced us to visit a clinic – Richard made an appointment for us.

Our little girls were won over by Logan (the dog) who came running as soon as we got home…and by Richard’s joking. They enjoyed the pool a lot!
There was no problem understanding each other despite the language barrier!
We will keep Villa Koukouvayia’s address for us, but also share it with friends!
Many thanks Richard and Heidi!

Michell & Brigitte, granddaughters Clementine (11) & Juliette(9), August 2021

“A beautiful week in the middle of the olive trees.”

“Our little girls were won over by Logan (the dog) who came running as soon as we got home…, and they enjoyed the pool a lot!”

“We loved staying at the Villa Koukouvayia.”

“We loved taking a dip in the pool in the morning before heading out for a day at the beach or Chania.”

“We will definitely be coming back.”

“Highly recommend it!”

A Memorable Vacation! We loved staying at the Villa Koukouvayia. The hosts were incredibly hospitable, available and lovely. Our large and busy family had plenty of room to relax and explore while being together for meals and outings. The house is beautiful, unique and the views are fantastic. We loved the rooftop terrace, watching
the night sky every night and taking a dip in the pool in the morning before heading out for a day at the beach or Chania. We will definitely be coming back if we go back to Crete. Highly recommend it!

Denise & Alexander, parents Tanya & Yanko, daughter Katarina (9), twins Sebastian & Matthias (5) & Brother Bogi (24), August 2021

“And the terraces are really nice, offering great views!”

Thanks Heidi and Richard for your hospitality. House had everything we needed, and the terraces are really nice, offering great views!

Alex & Katarzyna, children Luise (14) & Mila (10), August 2021

“House had everything we needed.”

“Everything was perfection.”

“The house was spotless.”

“Our hosts, Heidi and Richard, were thoughtful and attentive about even the smallest details.”

“Everything here was even better than it looks in the pictures.”

“It was such a relief to arrive and find everything better than we expected.”

“We have rented all over the world and Villa Koukouvayia is now by far our favorite vacation home rental.”

“Spectacular views from all seven terraces.”

“The ultimate retreat.”

“We were able to have the slow, lazy days by the pool or at a local beach, fabulous dining experiences, and amazing outdoor adventures.”

“Both my husband and I worked…, and the internet was very good.”

“Could not have been more delighted with our stay.”

“The villa has both great gathering areas and plenty of room to spread out for privacy or for working.”

“Richard and Heidi are ideal hosts, providing advice that enhanced our trip in a hundred different ways.”

Perfection in Crete. Living the dream! I can’t say enough about our wonderful stay at Villa Koukouvayia!! Everything was perfection. The house was spotless, and our hosts, Heidi and Richard, were incredibly thoughtful and attentive about even the smallest details. When you rent a home for 2 months (like we did in Crete), even a minor, unsavory surprise with your rental can ruin your trip, but everything here was even better than it looks in the pictures. It was such a relief to arrive and find everything better than we expected. Additionally, my background is in microbiology, and I have very high standards for the homes we rent. We have rented all over the world and Villa Koukouvayia is now by far our favorite vacation home rental. There are spectacular views from all seven terraces. It is the ultimate retreat. We were able to have the slow, lazy days by the pool or at a local beach, fabulous dining experiences, and amazing outdoor adventures. Both my husband and I worked part of the time we were in Crete, and the internet was very good. We could not have been more delighted with our stay and our time in Crete. The home had plenty of space for our family. The villa has both great gathering areas and plenty of room to spread out for privacy or for working. Richard and Heidi are ideal hosts. They provided invaluable advice that enhanced our trip in a hundred different ways. We are fortunate to have rented their home and now to be their friends. This was literally a dream vacation.

Jennifer & Tyler, children Kate (24) JC (22) & Isabel (16), August 2021

“We will definitely come back!”

A wonderful stay at Villa Koukouvayia! We spent a bit more than a week at Villa Koukouvayia and have felt like we were at home from day one. The house is very well taken care of by Heidi and Richard who are extremely attentive to the well being of their guests. The house is fully equipped (very impressive) and Heidi and Richard will
also give you access to a very welcome range of accessories (umbrella, beach gear, bikes , ping pong table, binoculars….). But most importantly, Heidi and Richard will give you very good tips for your visits in the region if you ask them (and you should!).
More than host, they are friends (not even mentioning Logan, their nice dog who loved to play with the kids and vice versa). We will definitely come back!

Julien & Chloe, sons Damen (10) & Come (8), August 2021

“We felt like we were at home from day one.”

“Lovely, perfect!”

“We adored the villa.”

“The pool! The view! The balconies! The roof terrace!”

“Stocked with everything we needed, from kitchenware to coolers and gear for the beach.”

“The location is perfect for trips to favorite beaches, hikes in the hills, and day trips to Chania and Rethymnon.”

“Richard & Heidi’s commitment to open and frequent communication made for an effortless booking and a comfortable stay.”

“We would come here again in a heartbeat.”

“Could not recommend enough!!”

Lovely, perfect! We adored the villa. We truly had the best time. The property is wonderful (the pool! the view! the balconies! the roof terrace!) and the house comfortable. It was stocked with everything we needed, from kitchenware to coolers and gear for the beach. Everything was as listed, and we found the location is perfect for trips to favorite beaches hikes in the hills, and day trips to Chania and Rethymnon. Richard's commitment to open and frequent communication made for an effortless booking and a comfortable stay. We would come here again in a heartbeat. Could not recommend enough!!
Friends Carly, Amy, Alex & Paul, July 2021

From 2020

“They made us feel totally welcome from day one.”

We – two adults and a baby – stayed at the Guest House for four weeks and explored western Crete. The house is absolutely lovely. It’s a two-story building, modern, airy and bright, with secure screens against mosquitoes. The pool is not large, but deep and good for plunging and will keep you cool on a hot day. What we liked best was how well thought-out everything is. There’s a balcony on every side of the house so you can enjoy the sun (or shade) at any time. Little details that turned out to be priceless was the clear labelling on all the light switches as well as a row of night lights along the stairs.
Villa Koukouvayia is reached by a short stretch of dirt road. The area offers lovely walking and running routes along roads and through olive groves. It’s a great location for pretty much anywhere in north-western Crete – the great beaches of Falásarna, Bálos and Elafonísi are all within reach, as are Chaniá and Paleóchora. The nearby town

of Kíssamos (about ten minutes’ drive from Villa Koukouvayia) offers a pretty fantastic archaeological museum, supermarkets and lovely restaurants by the sea.
I can’t overstate how well stocked the guest house is: you’ll be able to borrow anything from beach umbrellas to an actual kayak. As I mentioned we were travelling with a baby and obviously didn’t have a baby bath with us – so Richard got one from Chaniá.
That’s pretty amazing commitment to one’s guests.
Which brings me to the hosts: Richard and Heidi are absolutely lovely people. They made us feel totally welcome from day one, offered great advice on where to go and what to see and were just all-round friendly and approachable. They’re a big part of what makes Villa Koukouvayia such a great place to stay. We were very happy here and would love to visit again in the future.

Malte & Talitha, Baby Nuria (5mos!), Oct 2020

“Modern, airy and bright.”

“What we liked best was how well thought-out everything is.”

“The great beaches of Falássarna, Bálos and Elafonísi are all within reach, as are Chaniá and Paleóchora.

“I can’t overstate how well stocked the guest house is.”

“That’s a pretty amazing commitment to one’s guests.”

“Exactly as described: Well-equipped and in a perfect location.”

“Lovely, 360 views.”

“Owners were attentive…and enormously helpful.”

The property was exactly as described: Well-equipped and in a perfect location with lovely 360 views. The owners were attentive and a great source of knowledge if you are after an authentic 'local' experience. We were there for only one week and did not want to waste time finding the best of this and that – Their guidance were enormously helpful.
Wilma, Stephan children Isla (14) & Heinrich (12), August 2020

“Take time to lie on the roof terrace and watch the Milky Way and lots of shooting stars.”

Fabulous place! This is the most lovely house run by the most helpful couple. We made the mistake of staying here before moving on to another house along the coast. We were completely spoiled by this house and nothing after this on our vacation came even close. Everything you can think of was provided to make our stay wonderful. The house is immaculate, with such thought and care gone into making it so. Richard and Heidi were hospitable and discreet at the same time. They gave us wonderful information about the area, gave us wine to try and melons from their garden. Take time to lie on the roof terrace and watch the Milky Way and lots of shooting stars. Wish we'd stayed here longer. Hopefully we'll be back. Thanks very much indeed.
Alison & Alistair, children James (12) & Abigail (12), August 2020

“We were completely spoiled by this house and nothing after this on our vacation came even close.”

“The house is immaculate, with such thought and care gone into making it so.”

“Ideally located for visiting western Crete.”

Magnifique gîte dans les oliviers! Idéalement située pour visiter l’ouest de la Crète, nous avons apprécié cette villa parfaitement équipée avec en supplément les qualités humaines de ses propriétaires Richard et Heidi. Si proches mais toujours discrets, à notre disposition pour nous fournir idée de visite et de balades adaptées à l’âge de nos filles et hors des sentiers battus, ou nous conseiller des tavernes toutes plus bonnes les unes que les autres. Les enfants ont pu profiter de la piscine et jouer avec le chien Logan pendant que nous prenions l’apéritif sur le toit terrasse avec une vue à 360° sur les montagnes alentours. Nous avons aussi apprécié de pouvoir se servir des vélos pour aller chercher le pain le matin ou de la glacière pour des picnic sur la plage. Après une balade éprouvante dans les gorges d’Aradena, nous avons pu nous reposer au calme avec comme seul bruit de fond le son des cigales… et terminer la journée par une petite balade dans les oliviers. Nous remercions encore Richard et Heidi pour leur accueil ainsi que pour l’apéritif du dernier soir. Une adresse précieuse! 

Magnificent cottage in the olive trees! Ideally located for visiting western Crete, we appreciated this perfectly equipped villa with the added human qualities of its owners Richard and Heidi. So close but always discreet, at our disposal to provide us with ideas for visits and walks adapted to the age of our daughters and off the beaten track, or to recommend taverns, each one better than the next. The children were able to enjoy the swimming pool and play with the dog Logan while we had an aperitif on the roof terrace with a 360° view of the  surrounding mountains. We also appreciated being able to use the bikes to get bread in the morning or the cooler for picnics on the beach.
After a strenuous walk in the Aradena gorges, we were able to rest in peace with the only background noise the sound of cicadas… and end the day with a short walk in the olive trees. We thank again Richard and Heidi for their welcome as well as for the aperitif of the last evening. A precious address! 

Sandrine & Florent, daughters Margaux (14) & Lola (12), August 2020

“Everything was Perfect.”

“Never have been to a holiday rental that well equipped.”

“Thank you, Heidi and Richard, you made our one week holiday a great experience!”

Perfect! Everything was perfect, the hosts really very friendly and helpful, the house contained literally everything we needed. I’ve never have been to a holiday rental that well equipped. The hosts gave us good advices about where to go, which taverns really serve local food – thank you, Heidi and Richard, you made our one week holiday a great experience! Advice to all future visitors: don’t buy anything before you arrived at the apartment as you will find much more than you will expect and, by the way, you can drink the tab water and you will not need any plastic bottled water.
Hans & Helen, January 2020

From 2019

“Coming end of October/begin of November turned out to be an even luckier decision than we thought.”

Just perfect. If you want an authentic Crete experience while enjoying quietness in a super comfortable environment, this is the perfect location to go. Placed within olive groves and providing splendid views from any of the three verandas and balconies, the house couldn't be more happily situated. Plus, you can limit your luggage to the essential – everything's already there and at your disposal. For us this has even included a filled fridge as Richard and Heidi took the pain to take care of the challenges to manage a late arrival on our behalf to give us a relaxing holiday start. Coming end of October/begin of November turned out to be an even luckier decision than we thought. The weather was just awesome, allowing for swimming in the still very warm ocean at almost empty beaches in both Falassarna and Elefonisi while enabling us to hike in the mountaints and gorges without suffering too much from the heat and enjoying the unfolding green. The colder nights rewarded us with a starry skyes to watch at and the house stayed comfortably warm. So, we will return in late fall/early winter to stay away from the crowds, snuggling up at our very own Villa and enjoying the re-greening nature.
Antje & Markus, son Bjarne (8), November 2019

“The houses couldn’t be more happily situated.”

“Richard and Heidi took the pain to take care of the challenges to manage a late arrival on our behalf to give us a relaxing holiday start.”

“Super urlaub!”

“The house is very comfortable and furnished with great attention to detail.”

Super Urlaub! Es war alles super, Richard und Heidi waren sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Sie haben uns viele Tipps gegeben, wo man gut essen und entspannen kann. Auch zu Wanderungen und deren Planung stand uns Richard mit Rat und Tat zur Seite. Das Haus ist sehr gemütlich und mit viel Liebe zum Detail eingerichtet, Wir  haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Der Blick von der Dachterasse ist traumhaft.
Great vacation. Everything was great, Richard and Heidi were very nice and helpful. They gave us many tips on where to eat and relax. Richard was also at our side with advice and action on hikes and their planning. The house is very comfortable and furnished with great attention to detail, we felt very comfortable. The view from the
roof terrace is fantastic.

Lars & Jeanine, children Emma (11) & Felix (6), October 2019

“And not to forget Logan, the well behaved dog who likes everyone and understands both Greek and English commands!

Selten haben wir so ein perfektes Haus und so hilfsbereite und freundliche Gastgeber kennengelernt. Alles ist vorhanden, von der Kühlschrank-Erstausstattung über Strandtücher bis zum vielgenutzten Grill. Die Vermieter, Heidi und Richard, halten
sich dezent im Hintergrund, stehen aber bei Fragen zur Insel wie z. B. zu Einkaufsmöglichkeiten, zu Wandertouren, zu schönen Stränden und auch für einen kleinen Plausch immer zur Verfügung. Und nicht zu vergessen: Logan, den gut erzogenen Hund, der alle Menschen gern hat und sowohl griechische und englische
Kommandos versteht. Kurz: Die Villa Koukouvayia ist rundum empfehlenswert.

Rarely have we met such a perfect house and such helpful and friendly hosts. Everything is available, from the initial fridge set to beach towels to the much-used grill. The landlords, Heidi and Richard, remain discreetly in the background, but are available for questions about the island, e.g. shopping, hiking tours, beautiful beaches and also for a little chat always available. And not to forget: Logan, the well behaved dog, who likes everyone and understands both Greek and English commands! In short: Villa Koukouvayia is highly recommended.

Ranier & Marita, Maren (28), October 2019

“Selten haben wir so ein perfektes Haus und so hilfsbereite und freundliche Gastgeber kennengelernt.”

“Rarely have we met such a perfect house and such helpful and friendly hosts.”

“Erholung pur!”

“Pure relaxation!”

“The deep pool was the highlight for our children.”

Erholung pur! Wir haben mit unseren drei Kindern wundervolle Tage in dem Haus erlebt! Heidi und Richard sind tolle Gastgeber und das Haus liegt wunderbar umgeben von unzähligen Olivenbäumen. Der kleine aber tiefe Pool war das Highlight für unsere Kinder, allerdings sollte man die Kinder nicht unbeaufsichtigt an den Pool lassen. Toll war auch der Hund Logan, der sich von unseren Kindern wirklich alles gefallen ließ!
Wir würden auf jeden Fall sofort wieder diese Unterkunft wählen! Kurz gesagt: Wir alle waren rundum zufrieden!

Pure relaxation! We have experienced wonderful days in the house with our three children! Heidi and Richard are great hosts and the house is wonderfully surrounded by countless olive trees. The deep pool was the highlight for our children, but you should not leave the children unsupervised in the pool. The dog Logan was also great,
who really put up with everything our children did! We would definitely choose this accommodation again in a heartbeat! In short: we were all completely satisfied!

Corrina, Hannes, children Yannis (6) Kim (4) & Leoni (2), September 2019

“The house, the garden, the household appliances are of the very first quality.”

Un havre de paix très confortable au milieu des oliviers. Le service fourni est irréprochable, la maison, le jardin, l’ électroménager etc sont de toute première qualité. Heidi et Richard sont des hôtes charmants connaissant parfaitement la région et les besoins de leurs hôtes, une adresse à recommander à tous points de vue et en toutes saisons !

A very comfortable haven of peace in the middle of the olive trees. The service provided is irreproachable, the house, the garden, the household appliances etc. are of the very first quality. Heidi and Richard are charming hosts who know the region and the needs of their guests perfectly, an address to recommend from all points of view and in all seasons!

Raphael & Laurence, September 2019

“Le service fourni est irréprochable, la maison, le jardin, l'électroménager etc sont de toute première qualité.”

“Heidi and Richard…know the region and the needs of their guests perfectly”

“Olive Grove Paradise!”

“The perfect base for our exploration of Western Crete.”

“Truly a home away from home.”

“Modern, clean and comfortable.”

“All you need are the clothes on your back.”

“The villa is a gem and certainly value for money.“

Olive Grove Paradise! We thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay at Villa Koukouvayia . It was the perfect base for our exploration of Western Crete. Our hosts are expats from Maine, USA and have lived in Kissamos for a number of years. Initially, I did wonder whether it would be better to have local hosts, but in retrospect I am satisfied that our hosts were the best choice. In their time in Kissamos they have developed a wide number of contacts and they were able to provide a wealth of local information and valuable advice for the overseas visitor. In itself, this is truly a home away from home. They have been thoughtful and have anticipated every need. It is modern, clean and comfortable, literally, all you need are the clothes on your back and food. The tranquillity was overwhelming. Imagine looking out from every vantage point to see the twinkling Mediterranean and olive groves as far as the eye can see, waking up to the chime of bells in distant churches and in the evening the sound of crickets chirping in the groves. Imagine walking through the groves to local cafes, tavernas and shops and going home to jump in the pool on a hot afternoon. Far enough away from mainstream Kissamos to experience all these things, it is conveniently close enough if needs be. Your hosts are accessible if you want but if isolation is what you crave, you can have that too. This villa is a gem and certainly value for money.
Helen & Rob, daughter Ange (31), September 2019

“We loved it here! A big thank you to Richard & Heidi.”

Beautiful Villa & Perfect Hosts! From their pre-arrival communications with easy to follow directions and reassuring contact phone numbers, to their final farewell with a bottle of olive oil made with fruit from the villa's trees, the owners, Richard and Heidi, had done everything to ensure we had a relaxing, authentically Greek holiday, with a touch of luxury. Everything has been thought through for you. The kitchen is well equipped and has basic foodstuffs stocked up prior to arrival. Bathrooms are spacious. Bedrooms more than comfortable. Plug sockets are plentiful and even some adaptors provided. Wifi was good. Etc, etc… But this villa is all about the outside space. A covered verandah surrounds three sides of the building, so there is always sun or shade to choose from. Each bedroom and the first floor bathroom have balconies, the main bedroom balcony being huge, and there is a rooftop terrace reached by a cast iron spiral staircase from that main bedroom balcony. There's an infinity plunge pool – big enough to splash about in and cool off after a trip out, and the surrounding olive trees hum to the constant song of cicadas. We loved it here! A big thank you to Richard & Heidi.
David & Bernie, daughter Lilly (14), August 2019

“Beautiful villa & perfect hosts!”

“A relaxing, authentically Greek holiday, with a touch of luxury.”

“Everything has been thought through for you.”

“More than a perfect stay!”

“Perfect to visit the west of Creta (Balos, Elafonisi, gorges of the south, etc.)”

“The dog Logan is trained to perfection, and our children would have liked to take her back!”

More than a perfect stay! We had the most perfect stay with Richard and Heidi. The house is perfect for a family of four and Richard and Heidi were extremely kind and available throughout our stay. Richard is extremely resourceful and shares his passion for Creta with great dedication. The location was perfect to visit the west of Creta (Balos, Elafonisi, gorges of the south, etc). Their dog Logan is trained to perfection and our children would have liked to take her back. We fully recommend this booking and we hope we will come back some day. Marion and Thibaut.
Thibaut & Marion, children Madeleine (10) & Auguste (7), August 2019

“Our 8th stay on the island and this accommodation tops the list.”

Séjour 5 étoiles! Que dire?… pour nous, des prestations bien supérieures à de précédentes locations en crête, tant sur l’accueil que sur le confort et l’ environnement de la villa. C’était notre 8ème séjour sur l’île et ce logement arrive en tête de liste. Nous avons été ravis de l’accueil que nous ont réservé Richard et Heidi. Très discrets pendant notre séjour mais soucieux de notre bien être; ils nous ont orienté sur la visite de nouveaux lieux atypiques, en adéquation avec nos désirs. La maison est parfaitement bien équipée et d’une fonctionnalité exceptionnelle; Richard et Heidi ont réellement pensé au confort de leurs hôtes. La location est idéalement placée pour la visite de l’ Ouest de la crête (à 5 minutes de la route nationale); Son emplacement, au milieu des oliviers, sur les hauteurs d’un petit village présentant toutes les commodités, offre une vue imprenable sur la baie de Kissamos et les montagnes. La piscine à débordement privative nous a permis de nous rafraichir en profitant de la vue. Il est également à noter que les propriétaires laissent à disposition de multiples équipements; barbecue, masque de plongée, glacière, sac à dos, vélo… Une location parfaite pour 5 personnes!!

5 star stay! What can I say?… for us, services far superior to previous peak rentals, both in terms of reception and the comfort and environment of the villa. This was our 8th stay on the island and this accommodation tops the list. We were delighted with the welcome we received from Richard and Heidi. Very discreet during our stay but concerned about our well-being; they guided us on the visit of new atypical places, in line with our desires. The house is perfectly well equipped and of exceptional functionality; Richard and Heidi have really thought about the comfort of their guests. The location is ideally placed for visiting the western ridge (5 minutes from the national road); Its location, in the middle of olive trees, on the heights of a small village with all amenities, offers a breathtaking view of the bay of Kissamos and the mountains. The private infinity pool allowed us to refresh ourselves while enjoying the view. It should also be noted that the owners leave multiple equipment  available; barbecue, diving mask, cooler, backpack, bike… A perfect rental for 5 people!!

Olivier & Sabine, friend Louise (19), August, 2019

“Pour nous, des prestations bien supérieures à de précédentes locations en crête, tant sur l'accueil que sur le confort et l'environnement de la villa.”

“Breathtaking view of the bay of Kissamos and the mountains.”

Comme à la maison!”

“Like at home!”

“High Speed Wifi, and a terrace with a view of the stars.”

Comme à la maison! Richard, Heidi et leur chien Logan nous ont chaleureusement accueillis. La maison est très cosy et tout est disponible. Les enfants ont aimé le High Speed Wifi et la terrasse avec vue sur les étoiles. Les parents ont particulièrement apprécié la disponibilité de toutes les petites fournitures ( miel, café, thé…) Richard et Heidi sont charmants et de précieux guides dans le choix des sites (restaurants, plages, visites…). Nous y retournerons avec plaisir d’autant plus que nous n’avons pas fini notre discussion sur Nantasket! 

Like at home! Richard, Heidi and their dog Logan gave us a warm welcome. The house is very cozy and everything is available. The children liked the High Speed Wifi and the terrace with a view of the stars. The parents particularly appreciated the availability of
all the small supplies (honey, coffee, tea…) Richard and Heidi are charming and invaluable guides in the choice of sites (restaurants, beaches, visits…). We will return with pleasure especially since we have not finished our discussion on Nantasket!

Marie-Laure & Etienne, sons Louis(16) & Evan(11), August, 2019

“Prime location near the sea and all amenities.”

Quel merveilleux séjour! Quelle magnifique semaine passée dans la superbe maison de Richard et Heidi qui ont été charmants, accueillants et toujours très disponibles, tout comme Logan, adorable chien, excellent compagnon de jeu pour les enfants. Nous
recommandons très fortement cette maison très bien équipée, pour son calme, sa qualité et son emplacement de choix à proximité de la mer et de toutes commodités. 

What a wonderful stay! What a wonderful week spent in the superb house of Richard and Heidi who were charming, welcoming and always very available, just like Logan, adorable dog, excellent playmate for the children. We highly recommend this very well
equipped house, for its calm, its quality and its prime location near the sea and all amenities.

Olivier & Stephanie, children Alice(9) Arthur(8) & Agathe(6), July, 2019

Merveilleux séjour!”

“The perfect place to be!”

“A lot of extras that you wouldnt find in other places.”

The perfect place to be! The house is extremly well equiped, nothing we have missed, what makes a stay extremely easy as you dont need to take care of any basic equipment and material. There are a lot of extras that you wouldnt find in other places, like snorkeling gear, bikes, beach equipment… Much more important nevertheless is the hospitality of Heidi and Richard. They know the area extremely well, can give you tips for the best hikes, beaches, Tavernas… And it was simply a great time with them to hear the stories and have fun. And we will miss their dog Logan, probably the most friendliest dog on earth! Normally we don’t go to places twice but rather explore new things. For this great location and for more time with Heidi and Richard, we may make an exception here!
Petra & Ingmar, children Tim (14) & Susanah (11), July 2019

“Designed so you don't see anyone the whole day if you don't want to.”

Wir haben schon oft Appartements, Finkas oder Villen gemietet, aber dies Villa top definitiv alle! Nicht, dadurch, dass sie besonders protzig ist, aber weil es dort einfach ALLES gibt und die Villa ganz offensichtlich mit viel Liebe und Erfahrung gebaut wurde. Und genauso sind auch die Vermieter, sehr rücksichtsvoll super nett und
einfach total unkompliziert. Die beiden Häuser sind auch so konzipiert, dass man den ganzen Tag niemanden sieht wenn man nicht möchte. Allerdings ist ein Gespräch mit Heidi oder Richard immer sehr unterhaltsam. Da freut man sich wenn man mal ein
Pläuschchen mit den beiden halten kann. Also absolut und ohne Einschränkungen weiter zu empfehlen!

We have often rented apartments, fincas or villas, but this villa definitely tops all of them! Not because it is particularly showy, but because there is simply EVERYTHING and the villa was obviously built with a lot of love and experience. And so are the landlords, very considerate, super nice and just totally uncomplicated. The two houses are also designed so that you don’t see anyone the whole day if you don’t want to. However, a conversation with Heidi or Richard is always very entertaining. You’re happy when you can have a chat with them. So absolutely and without restrictions to recommend!!

Sandra & Daniel, June, 2019

“This villa definitely tops all of them!”

“Obviously built with love.”

From 2018

“Quiet, luxurious, in beautiful surroundings.”

“You could prepare a meal immediately based on the supplies.”

“Each terrace & each balcony equipped with furniture.”

“The deep pool invites you to cool off.”

Ruhig, luxuriös in schöner Umgebung, auf einem Feldweg zu erreichen. Vollständig und ansprechend ausgestattet mit allen Annehmlichkeiten, die man sich wünscht. Nicht nur war die Küche mit sämtlichen Utensilien ausgestattet, man hätte auch sofort
aufgrund der Vorräte ein Essen zubereiten können. Auch im sanitären Bereich war alles vorhanden, was nötig ist, so dass man sich die Mitnahme/Kauf von Fön, Waschmittel etc, sowie auch Handtücher, sei es für Bad oder Strand, sparen kann. Auch im Aussenbereich, der unseres Erachtens unglaublich ist, war alles vorhanden. Jede Terasse, jeder Balkon ist mit Möbeln bestückt. Der tiefe Pool lädt zum Abkühlen ein. Unser Vermieter war äusserst hilfsbereit und informierte uns bei Bedarf über Ausflugsziele und gastronomische Plätze. Zum Abschluss gab es für die Heimreise als
Erinnerung Olivenöl aus dem eigenen Hain zur Mitnahme. Alle Angaben der Vermieter unter FEWO entsprechen vollumfänglich dem Vorgefundenen. Wir bedanken uns bei Richard( Heidi war während unseres Aufenthaltes nicht vor Ort) für die freundliche
Aufnahme und grüssen ihn und Logan recht herzlich. Es gibt eine große Zahl von schönen und interessanten Ausflugszielen in der Umgebung, sei es Strand, Wandern, Kultur oder Kulinarisches. Unsere angesetzte Urlaubszeit war für diese Region nachweislich zu kurz. Wir wünschen allen Besuchern dieser Ferienwohnung und
dieser Region, dass sie genauso entspannen können, wie es uns gelungen ist. Beste Wünsche U. und J

Quiet, luxurious in beautiful surroundings, accessed via a dirt road. Fully and attractively furnished with all the amenities you could wish for. Not only was the kitchen equipped with all utensils, you could have prepared a meal immediately based on the supplies. In the sanitary area, too, everything was available that is necessary, so
that you can save yourself the need to take/buy a hair dryer, detergent, etc., as well as towels, whether for the bathroom or the beach. Everything was also available in the outdoor area, which we think is incredible. Each terrace, each balcony is equipped with furniture. The deep pool invites you to cool off. Our landlord was extremely helpful and informed us about excursion destinations and places to eat when needed. At the end there was olive oil from our own grove to take away as a souvenir for the journey home. All information provided by the landlord perfectly matched what we
found. We would like to thank Richard (Heidi was not on site during our stay) for the friendly welcome and say hello to him and Logan. There are a large number of beautiful and interesting destinations in the area, be it beach, hiking, culture or culinary delights. Our scheduled vacation time was demonstrably too short for this region. We wish all visitors to this holiday home and this region that they can relax as much as we did. Best wishes!

Uwe & Jutta, October, 2018

“From the very first moment we felt like being home.”

Awesome location, perfect house, great host. We stayed 2 weeks at Richards guest house in the middle of a huge olive grove. From the very first moment we felt like being home. The house is in a perfect condition and well equipped. Richard even bought a microwave and a high chair for our 1.5 year old son, which made our stay even more comfortable. He always wants to improve things, but we couldn't think of anything when he asked us. The house is located close to Kissamos, where you have shopping facilities, nice little beaches, bakeries and some restaurants. But it's far away enough to have quiet evenings under an amazing sky with stars that we never saw before and beautiful views at sunset especially from the roof terrace. If you have a car, you are able to reach the highlights of western Crete within an hour or less. In addition to all typical guidebook highlights, Richard has a lot more of them in store including the best tavernas in western Crete. The pool is more like a huge bathtub than a swimming pool, but it's absolutely sufficient for refreshing and playing with kids. Our son and ourselves as well made a special new friend – Logan – the dog. She is absolutely fond of people of every age, especially children. We loved to stay in Richard’s & Heidi’s little paradise and we will definitely come back.
Stephan & Nadja, son Lennard (2), September 2018

“Awesome location, perfect house, great host.”

“Child-friendly.”

“Out 2.5-year-old…loved the toys.”

“The pool was amazing.”

Wunderschöner Urlaub und Aufenthalt in der Villa Koukouvayia. Wir verbrachten einen wunderschönen Urlaub in der Villa. Das Haus ist wunderschön, es hat viele Balkone und eine wunderschöne Aussicht und ist kinderfreundlich eingerichtet. Richard und sein Hund Logan waren überaus freundlich und zuvorkommend. Unser 2.5 Jährigen Sohn genoss die Zeit sehr und hat Richard und Logan bereits nach wenigen Stunden schon richtig ins Herz geschlossen, auch liebte er die Spielzeuge die uns Richard zur Verfügung gestellt hatte. Am Abend konnten wir uns jeweils im Pool abkühlen. und der Pool war einmalig. Richard konnte uns gut beraten und gab und gute Vorschläge und Ideen was sehenswert ist und welche Restaurants zu empfehlen sind. Die berühmten Strände Balos Beach und Falassarna sind von der Villa mit dem Auto innert ca. 30 Minuten zu erreichen. Sehr gerne kommen wir wieder.

Wonderful holiday and stay at Villa Koukouvayia. We spent a wonderful holiday in the villa. The house is beautiful, it has many balconies and a beautiful view and is child-friendly. Richard and his dog Logan were extremely friendly and accommodating. Our
2.5-year-old son really enjoyed the time and after just a few hours he really took a liking to Richard and Logan, and he also loved the toys that Richard had made available to us. In the evening we could cool down in the pool. and the pool was amazing. Richard was able to advise us well and gave us good suggestions and ideas about what
is worth seeing and which restaurants are recommended. The famous beaches of Balos Beach and Falassarna can be reached from the villa by car in about 30 minutes. We’d love to come back.

Martina & Sasha, son Laeto (2.5) August, 2018

Location de grande qualité dans un cadre d'exception.”

The swimming pool was popular day and night, especially the children, who jumped there a lot.”

Location de grande qualité dans un cadre d’exception. Nous sommes une famille de 4 (enfants de 8 et 12 ans) et chacun gardera de ce séjour des souvenirs imperissables. La Crête est une île aux multiples facettes, qui sait enchanter petits et grands. Vallées et mers de toute beauté, plages paradisiaques, sites historiques, villages typiques,cuisine et accueil emprunts d’authenticité ….ont fait de ce voyage une paranthèse
enchanteresque. Mais si ce séjour a été autant apprécié, c’est aussi pour une grande part dû à l’accueil si chaleureux de Heidi et Richard et à la qualité des prestations. Le dépaysement et la déconnexion sont assurés dès l’entrée dans la propriété. La maison, située au milieu de champs d’oliviers, sans voisinage autre que les propriétaires, vous assure une grande quiétude. Vous n’entendez que le chant des grillons.. La maison, moderne et bien équipée, a été conçue pour vous faire profiter à plein de ce cadre privilégié. Par le biais de multiples terrasses et balcons spacieux, vous disposez effectivement de points de vue à 360 degrés. Et quel environnement ! Vues sur la baie de Kissamos, montagnes et champs d’oliviers.. magnifique ! Ces espaces bénéficient des équipements adéquats (tables, chaises, transats.) pour pouvoir se reposer ou profiter de moments en famille. Nous garderons par exemple de très bons souvenirs des apéritifs pris sur le balcon du 1er avec vue sur mer ou de la magnifique vue dégagée sur le ciel étoilé permis par la terrasse sur le toit ( et que dire de l’éclipse de lune à laquelle nous avons eu la chance d’assister…cadre magique !). La piscine a également été très appréciée de jour comme en soirée, notamment des enfants qui y ont multiplié les sauts. Heidi et Richard sont des hôtes discrets, bienveillants et toujours disponibles pour tout besoin. Ils veillent à ce que votre séjour se passe dans les meilleures conditions et que vous vous sentiez comme chez vous. Merci encore Richard pour les conseils de visites, le télescope et balade avec les enfants, mais également les services précieux rendus (règlement amende, logistique pour Samaria. …). Sont également mis à disposition de nombreux équipements forts utiles tels que cartes région, parasol, serviettes plage, équipements plongée, sacs à dos, glacière, Vtt, .. . Le Wi-Fi fonctionne très bien, tv pas nécessaire. A prévoir micro-ondes. Nous recommandons vivement cette location et serions heureux de vous revoir ( en Crête ou si vous passez en France), ainsi que l’adorable chien Logan . Amitiés. 

High quality location in an exceptional setting. We are a family of 4 (children aged 8 and 12) and everyone will keep lasting memories of this stay. Crete is a multi-faceted island, which knows how to enchant young and old alike. Beautiful valleys and seas, heavenly beaches,  historical sites, typical villages, authentic cuisine and hospitality …. have made this trip a parenthesis enchanting. But if this stay was so appreciated, it is also largely due to the warm welcome from Heidi and Richard and the quality of the services. A change of scenery and disconnection are guaranteed as soon as you enter the property. The house, located in the middle of olive groves, with no neighbors other than the owners, ensures great peace of mind. You only hear the chirping of crickets. The house, modern and well equipped, has been designed to allow you to take full advantage of this privileged setting. Through multiple spacious terraces and balconies, you actually have 360 degree views. And what an environment! Views over the bay of Kissamos, mountains and olive groves.. magnificent! These spaces have adequate equipment (tables, chairs, deckchairs) to be able to rest or enjoy moments with the family. For example, we will keep very good memories of the aperitifs taken on the first-floor balcony with sea view or the magnificent unobstructed view of the starry sky from the roof terrace (and what about the lunar eclipse which we were lucky enough to attend…magical setting!) The swimming pool was also very popular day and night, especially the children who jumped there a lot. Heidi and Richard are discreet, caring hosts who are always available for any need. They ensure that your stay takes place in the best conditions and that you feel at home. Thank you again Richard for the advice on visits, the telescope and walks with the children, but also the precious services rendered (the payment of our parking fine, logistics for Samaria, etc.). A lot of very useful equipment is also available, such as regional maps, parasols, beach towels, diving equipment, backpacks, cooler, mountain bike, etc. The Wi-Fi works very well, TV not necessary. Microwave provided, too. We highly recommend this rental and would be happy to see Richard & Heidi again (in Crete or if they come to France), as well as the adorable dog Logan. With much friendship!

Frederic & Julie, children Manon (12) & Thomas (8), July 2018

“Richard, Heidi (and Logan the dog) are perfect, present if you wish, discreet if you wish, but always considerate and friendly.”

SUPERBE avec un supplement d ame! Comme exprimé par les Invités précédents, l’endroit est magnifique: dans les oliviers, vue sur la baie de Kissamos mais proche de petits commerces et tavernes à prix modeste. Nous occupions la guesthouse, 2 chambres, super équipée. terrasses et balcons partout, machine à laver, etc. Un détail mais c’est voulu je pense pas de télé. Elle inutile pour nous (sauf pour le mondial de foot 😉 ) mais le wifi est très bon donc pas de problème pour les accros. Si nous avons choisi cet endroit c’est aussi grâce au commentaires sur les hôtes. Richard, Heidi (et le
chien Logan) sont parfaits, présents si vous le souhaitez, discrets si vous le souhaitez mais toujours prévenants et sympathiques. Au final je pense que c’est eux l’atout principal de ce bel endroit. Christelle, Yves, Xavier, Thomas PS: si vous voyez sur votre mobile un numéro du Maine (USA), ne raccrochez pas, c’est Richard qui s’assure des derniers détails pour votre arrivée ;-).

SUPERB place, with extra character & soul. As expressed by  previous guests, the place is magnificent: in the olive trees, overlooking the bay of Kissamos but close to small shops and modestly priced tavernas. We occupied the guesthouse, 2 bedrooms, super equipped. terraces and balconies everywhere, washing machine, etc. A detail but it is wanted I think no TV. It’s useless for us (except for the football world ;-)) but the wifi is very good so no problem for addicts. If we chose this place it is also thanks to the
comments on the hosts. Richard, Heidi (and the dog Logan) are perfect, present if you wish, discreet if you wish but always considerate and friendly. In the end I think they are the main asset of this beautiful place. Christelle, Yves, Xavier, Thomas PS: if you see
a number from Maine (USA) on your mobile, don’t hang up, it’s Richard who takes care of the final details for your arrival 😉

Christelle & Yves, twins Xavier & Thomas (19), July 2018

"SUPERBE avec un supplement d ame!”

“A SUPERB place, with extra character & soul.”

“Magnifique!”

“The Wi-Fi is very good.”

Smashing views from the terraces.”

“Our 6-year-old boy learned swimming there.”

“Logan is such a friendly and well-trained dog we fell in love with her straight away.”

“Thanks for your kind hospitality—we felt like we were at home.”

We spent 2,5 wonderful weeks at Villa Koukouvayia. The quiet setting in the middle of the olive grove, the smashing views from the terraces and the pool were very enjoyable. Our 6-year-old boy learned swimming there. Before arriving, we were a bit skeptical because of the dog but Logan is such a friendly and well-trained dog, that we fell in love with her straight away. Thanks a lot Richard for your kind hospitality -we felt like we were at home-, your tips and for jumping into the pool with Jonas. Hope to see you and Logan again sometime.
Doro & Bart, son Jonas (6), May 2018

“A great experience!”

Der Aufenthalt war super. Die schöne Aussicht in alle Richtungen kann man auf einem der vielen Balkone oder Terassen genießen. Der Pool ist klein aber absolut ausreichend. Auch die Ausstattung des Hauses ließ nichts zu wünschen übrig. Richard und sein Hund Logan waren überaus nett und gastfreundlich. Es gibt schöne Strände und Berglandscahften zu erkunden in der Umgebung. Insgesamt eine super Erfahrung! 

The stay was great. The beautiful view in all directions can be enjoyed on one of the many balconies or terraces. The pool is small but absolutely sufficient. The equipment of the house left nothing to be desired. Richard and his dog Logan were extremely kind and hospitable. There are beautiful beaches and mountainous areas to explore in the area. Overall a great experience!

Friends Paul, Leo, Julian & Christian, April 2018

“The equipment of the house left nothing to be desired.”

From 2017

“This house is just amazing.”

“We arrived late and there was food for us in the fridge!”

This house is just amazing. It has everything you can imagine, great views, various places to relax, eat and enjoy the nature. Richard was very welcoming and helped us out with everything. We arrived late and he had some food for us in the fridge! Thanks a lot for everything!!! We enjoyed our stay very much and would love to come back!!!!
Mattias & Marike, Baby Morritz (2), October 2017

“The kitchen area was one of the best we've rented.”

Lovely, peaceful and spacious location. We are a family of 4 and we have had a wonderful time here in this superb villa. The pool was much appreciated by all of us and particularly the children. The rooms had plenty of space and the kitchen area was one of the best we've rented as it had ample room to store groceries and to prepare food. Richard is at any time available to help or support you and he is a very nice man. All in all a wonderful holiday – we are certainly thinking of a return visit. Many thanks Richard!
Nicolas & Maud, sons Victor(14) & Basile(11), August 2017

“Superb villa.”

“Lovely, peaceful and spacious location.”

“The pool was appreciated by all, and particularly the children."

“Wonderful house and location.”

“You won’t need the air-conditioning thanks to the nice breeze the property always receives.”

“The swimming pool is perfect.”

“Hard for us to leave the house, where we felt like home from the first day!”

Wonderful house and location. We stayed 6 days in this wonderful villa. The house is very well furnished with everything to have a comfortable stay for a family of 4 people. The house is very well located in the mountains, in the middle of olive trees, quiet, peaceful and with very nice 360 degree views. You won’t need the air-conditioning thanks to the nice breeze the property always receives. The swimming pool is perfect to relax and refresh. Kissamos, Balos and Falasarna beaches are not far from the house. The host Richard is very friendly and loves to share his nice house. He has very good advice regarding restaurants and activities. He did his best to make our holidays perfect. His puppy Logan is a lovely dog. It was hard for us to leave the house, where we felt like home from the first day!
Ramiro & Family, August 2017

“Go there without hesitation!!”

Des vacances au paradis. La maison est vraiment superbe, cachée dans les oliviers vous serez bercés par le chant des cigales. La maison est très confortable, et elle est parfaitement équipée, nous avons adoré nos vacances. Richard est d’une grande générosité, il fera en sorte que votre séjour se déroule parfaitement, il vous donnera toutes les indications pour visiter la région, il connaît tous les petits restaurants…. Être en vacances chez Richard et Heidi c’est comme si vous veniez rejoindre votre famille…. Vraiment nous avons été très sensible à leur accueil chaleureux. Allez y sans hésiter!!
A vacation in paradise. The house is really superb, hidden in the olive trees you will be lulled by the song of the cicadas. The house is very comfortable, and it is perfectly equipped, we loved our  vacation. Richard is very generous, he will ensure that your stay goes perfectly, he will give you all the directions for visiting the region, he knows all the little restaurants…. Being on vacation with Richard and Heidi is as if you were coming to join your family…. Really we were very sensitive to their warm welcome. Go there without hesitation!!

Virginie & Family, August 2017

“Des vacances au paradis”

“A vacation in paradise.”

“Richard & Heidi will ensure that your stay goes perfectly.”

“Allez y sans hésiter!!”

Très belle maison au milieu des olivers.”

“Pretty, modern, and very well-equipped house.”

“Located in a "forest" of olive trees.”

“Only the cicadas could disturb our siesta by the pool!”

Très belle maison au milieu des olivers. Nous avons passé une superbe semaine dans cette jolie maison récente et très bien équipée. La maison est implantée au milieu d’une très vaste “forêt” d’oliviers, où seules les cigales pourraient déranger la sieste au bord de la piscine! Le village est à quelques minutes à pied, où il est possible de se ravitailler (2 mini markets) et de se restaurer. Merci encore aux propriétaires Richard et Heidi, qui ont été aux petits soins avec nous, et qui nous ont donné de précieux conseils pour
les visites aux alentours. 

Very nice house in the middle of the olive trees. We spent a superb week in this pretty, recent and very well equipped house. The house is located in the middle of a very large “forest” of olive trees, where only the cicadas could disturb the siesta by the pool! The village is a few minutes walk away, where it is possible to get supplies (2 mini markets) and eat. Thanks again to the owners Richard and Heidi, who took great care of us, and who gave us valuable advice for visits in the surrounding area.

Lionel & Aude, children Chloe (11) & Yann (7), July 2017

“Kitchen was spot on for the chief.”

The property and plunge pool were fantastic for all of us. Great location and easy access around the west of the island. Kitchen was spot on for the chef.
Brian & Jools, sons Lachlan (19) & Keir (11), July 2017

The property and plunge pool were fantastic.”

From 2016

“La villa era perfetta.”

“The villa was perfect.”

“Edificio nuovissimo, arredi perfetti, tutto ha funzionato alla perfezione.”

“Brand new building, perfect furnishings, everything worked perfectly.”

“The air conditioner was not necessary as the place is so breezy & fresh.”

Posizione ottima per raggiungere tutte le migliori spiaggia della zona. La villa era perfetta. Edificio nuovissimo, arredi perfetti, tutto ha funzionato alla perfezione. Il condizionatore non è necessario dato che il posto è freschissimo. La costruzione è realizzata con i più moderni criteri antisismici ( ci è capitato di subire il terremoto
qualche anno fa in Grecia). I proprietari sono molto cortesi e disponibili. Torneremo. 

Excellent location to reach all the best beaches in the area. The villa was perfect. Brand new building, perfect furnishings, everything worked perfectly. The air conditioner is not necessary as the place is so fresh. The construction is made with the most modern anti-seismic criteria (we happened to suffer the earthquake a few years ago in Greece). The owners are very courteous and helpful. We’ll be back.

Maurizio & Family, August 2016

“See you again soon, we hope!”

Superbe villa au milieu des oliviers. Nous avons passé de très bons moments, nos hôtes ont été prévenants, la maison est top avec des terrasses partout qui permettent une vues ans toutes les directions. Et ce calme 🙂 Merci Heidi et Richard! A bientôt j’espère.

Superb villa set in the middle of olive trees. We had a great time, our hosts were considerate, the house is great with terraces everywhere that allow views in all directions. And very calm 🙂 Thank you Heidi! See you soon, we hope.

Florence & Roland, sons Romane & Geoffrey, August 2016

“Superb villa set in the middle of olive trees.”

“Wow!”

“All of the amenities and comforts of home.”

“All houses [have] everything…fully-equipped kitchens, laundry facilities, sitting rooms and outdoor spaces with furniture.”

“Pool is perfect for cooling off on a hot day.”

“Wi-Fi access was very good.”

“Grocery shop and restaurants…just a quick walk down the hill, and Kissamos is within an 8-minute drive.”

Wonderful Crete Retreat. Wow! The perfect spot for a getaway, with all of the amenities and comforts of home. Lovely location, in the hills just outside of Kissamos, surrounded by olive groves. All the houses are fully-furnished with everything to make a short or long stay very, very comfortable. Lots of nice touches. Fully-equipped kitchens, laundry facilities, sitting rooms and outdoor spaces with furniture. Small pool that is perfect for cooling off on a hot day. Small grocery shop and restaurants close by (just a quick walk down the hill), and Kissamos is within an 8-minute drive. Wi-Fi access was very good. Owners are very friendly and will go out of their way to make sure that your stay is pleasant. Recommendation: Rent a car … you will want to do some day trips to the beach, to the Samaria Gorge, to Chania, and other places. There are SO many lovely places to explore in this part of Crete! Highly, highly recommend. Will go back for sure.
John, Jane & Family, May 2016

“Laundry facilities were a big plus.”

A great place for families with kids as there is lots of room for everybody and lots to do in the are. My kids really enjoyed sleeping in bunk beds and eating outside on the terrace overlooking the pool. Daily trips to the beach were a must as well as the evening dip in the pool right after supper. What a treat! Hosts extremely helpful people, knowledgeable about the area and willing to help with anything you may possibly need. Laundry facilities were a big plus as kids do get dirty fast:) We stayed in the guest house and appreciated the privacy of it while enjoying all the modern amenities one would wish for. I would highly recommend this place.
Avery, Susan & Family, May 2016

“A great place for families with kids.”

“Hosts extremely helpful people, knowledgeable about area and willing to help with anything you possibly need.”